Record Details

Catalog Search

The Dark is rising / Susan Cooper ; illus. by Alan E. Cober.

Cooper, Susan, 1935- (Author). Cober, Alan E., (illustrator.).

Available copies

  • 54 of 54 copies available at Evergreen Indiana.

Current holds

0 current holds with 54 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Adams PL Sys. - Decatur Branch JF COO 5-7 (Text) 34207000388760 Juvenile Fiction Available -
Adams PL Sys. - Geneva Branch J FIC COO (Text) 36880000046899 GJF Available -
Brazil PL - Brazil JUVENILE COOPER (Text) 38160000237329 Youth Services Available -
Carnegie PL of Steuben Co - Angola J FIC COO (Text) 33118000067949 Children: Fiction Available -
Covington-Veedersburg PL - Covington YA COO (Text) 32572000186635 CVBPLC Young Adult Fiction Available -
Culver Elementary School F COO (Text) 72456000010437 F Available -
Culver Elementary School F COO (Text) 72456000021722 F Available -
Culver Elementary School TB COO1 (Text) 72456000001384 PB Available -
Culver Elementary School TB COO1 (Text) 72456000006319 PB Available -
Culver Elementary School TB COO1 (Text) 72456000006419 PB Available -
Next 10 »

Record details

  • ISBN: 0689704208 (pbk.)
  • ISBN: 9780689704208 (pbk.)
  • ISBN: 0689303173
  • ISBN: 9780689303173
  • Physical Description: 216 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm.
  • Edition: [1st ed.]
  • Publisher: New York : Atheneum, 1973.

Content descriptions

General Note: "A Margaret K. McElderry book."
Series Includes: The Dark is rising includes Over Sea, Under Stone ; The Dark is rising (1974 Newbery Honor winner); Greenwitch; the Grey King (1976 Newbery Award winner); and Silver on the Tree.
Sequel to: Over sea, under stone.
Following sequel: Greenwitch.
Formatted Contents Note: Part One: The finding -- Midwinter's Eve -- The sign seeker -- The walker on the old way -- Part Two: The learning -- Christmas Eve -- The book of Gramarye -- Betrayal -- Christmas -- Part Three: The testing -- The coming of the cold -- The hawk in the dark -- The king of fire and water -- The hunt rides again -- The joining of the signs.
Summary, etc.: On his eleventh birthday, Will Stanton discovers that he is the last of the Old Ones, destined to seek the six magical Signs that will enable the Old Ones to triumph over the evil forces of the Dark.
Target Audience Note: 920 Lexile.
Awards Note: Newbery Honor Book, 1974.
Subject: Fantasy.
Good and evil > Fiction.
England > Fiction.
England > Juvenile fiction.
Good and evil > Juvenile fiction.
Genre: Fantasy fiction.

Additional Resources