Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Love in the big city / Sang Young Park ; translated from the Korean by Anton Hur.

Hur, Anton,(translator.).

Available copies

  • 7 of 10 copies available at Evergreen Indiana.

Current holds

0 current holds with 10 total copies.

Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Greensburg-Decatur Co PL - Greensburg FIC PARK (Text) 32826014404776 New Books Available -
Hussey-Mayfield Mem. PL - Zionsville FIC PARK, SANG YOUNG (Text) 33946004037136 New Books . 2nd Floor Available -
Jefferson Co PL - Madison Main Branch FICTION PARK (Text) 39391007077991 Fiction Checked out 02/01/2022
Kendallville PL - Kendallville Main Branch NEW FICTION PARK (Text) 37516002071986 Adult New Book Shelf-Fiction Available -
Lebanon PL - Lebanon F PARK (Text) 34330513580952 Adult - New Fiction Available -
Peabody PL - Columbia City FICTION PARK (Text) 30403002467868 Adult - Fiction Available -
Plainfield-Guilford Twp PL - Plainfield FIC Park (Text) 31208913274124 new fiction In process -
Putnam County Public Library - Main FIC PAR (Text) 30041002418927 New Book Section Checked out 02/11/2022
Scott County PL - Scottsburg FIC PAR (Text) 35830802140730 Lease Books Available -
West Lafayette PL - West Lafayette FIC PAR (Text) 31951004527237 Main Floor - New Arrivals Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780802158789
  • ISBN: 0802158781
  • Physical Description: 234 pages ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First Grove Atlantic hardcover editition.
  • Publisher: New York : Grove Press, 2021.

Content descriptions

General Note:
"Originally published in Korea in 2019 as Daedosiui Sarangbeop by Changhi Publishers." -- Verso.
Summary, etc.:
"Love in the Big City is the English-language debut of Sang Young Park, one of Korea's most exciting young writers. A runaway bestseller, the novel hit the top five lists of all the major bookstores and went into nine printings. Love in the Big City is an energetic, joyful, and moving novel that depicts both the glittering nighttime world of Seoul and the bleary-eyed morning-after. Young is a cynical yet fun-loving Korean student who pinballs from home to class to the beds of recent Tinder matches. He and Jaehee, his female best friend and roommate, frequent nearby bars where they push away their anxieties about their love lives, families, and money with rounds of soju and ice-cold Marlboro Reds that they keep in their freezer. Yet over time, even Jaehee leaves Young to settle down, leaving him alone to care for his ailing mother and to find companionship in his relationships with a series of men, including one whose handsomeness is matched by his coldness, and another who might end up being the great love of his life. A brilliantly written novel filled with humor and emotion, Love in the Big City is an exploration of millennial loneliness as well as the joys of queer life, that should appeal to readers of Sayaka Murata, Han Kang, and Cho Nam-Joo."-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: College students > Fiction.
Young gay men > Fiction.
Gay men > Fiction.
Roommates > Fiction.
Seoul (Korea) > Fiction.
Interpersonal relations > Fiction.
Loneliness > Fiction.
Generation Y > Fiction.
FICTION / Literary.
FICTION / LGBTQ+ / Gay.
FICTION / Coming of Age.
Genre: Gay fiction.
LGBTQIA+ fiction.

Additional Resources