Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The secret starling / Judith Eagle ; illustrated by Jo Rioux.

Eagle, Judith, (author.). Rioux, Jo-Anne, (illustrator.).

Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at Evergreen Indiana.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Whiting PL - Whiting +FIC EAG (Text) 51735012114913 Children's department In process -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781536213652
  • ISBN: 1536213659
  • Physical Description: 249 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm
  • Edition: First US edition 2021
  • Publisher: Somerville, Massachusetts : Walker Books US, 2021.

Content descriptions

General Note:
First published by Faber & Faber Limited (UK) 2019.
Summary, etc.:
"Clara Starling lives a life of dull rules, deadly routine, and flavorless meals under her cold uncle's strict regime—until the day Uncle disappears, leaving Clara alone in his old mansion. When streetwise orphan Peter and his rescue cat arrive unexpectedly, the children seize the chance to live by their own rules. But when the pair’s wild romps through the halls of Braithwaite Manor reveal a single, worn ballet slipper, they are hurled into a mystery that will lead to London’s glittering Royal Opera House and the unraveling of twisted Starling family secrets of poison, passion, and murder. Diabolical villains, plucky orphans, and glamorous ballet stars populate this absorbing adventure with a classic feel. A tattered ballet slipper found under the floorboards of Braithwaite Manor may be the key to Clara’s sinister family secrets in this delightful, lightly Gothic mystery for fans of Maryrose Wood and Claire Legrand."-- Provided by publisher.
Target Audience Note:
10 yrs - 14 yrs.
Grade 5 - Grade 9.
Subject: Mansions > Juvenile fiction.
Orphans > Juvenile fiction.
Family secrets > Juvenile fiction.
Ballet > Juvenile fiction.
Genre: Detective and mystery fiction.

Additional Resources