Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Two trees make a forest : travels among Taiwan's mountains & coasts in search of my family's past [electronic resource] / Jessica J. Lee.

Lee, Jessica J., 1986- (author.). hoopla digital. (Added Author).
Image of item

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781646220014 (electronic bk.)
  • ISBN: 1646220013 (electronic bk.)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource
  • Publisher: [United States] : Catapult, 2020.
  • Distributor: Made available through hoopla

Content descriptions

Restrictions on Access Note:
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Summary, etc.:
An exhilarating, anti-colonial reclamation of nature writing and memoir, rooted in the forests and flatlands of Taiwan, perfect for fans of Margaret Renkl's Late Migrations and William Finnegan's Barbarian Days. A chance discovery of letters written by her immigrant grandfather leads Jessica J. Lee to her ancestral homeland, Taiwan. There, she seeks his story while growing closer to the land he knew. Lee hikes mountains home to Formosan flame crests, birds found nowhere else on earth, and swims in a lake of drowned cedars. She bikes flatlands where spoonbills alight by fish farms, and learns about a tree whose fruit can float in the ocean for years, awaiting landfall. Throughout, Lee unearths surprising parallels between the natural and human stories that have shaped her family and their beloved island. Joyously attentive to the natural world, Lee also turns a critical gaze upon colonialist explorers who mapped the land and named plants, relying on and often effacing the labor and knowledge of local communities. Two Trees Make a Forest is a genre-shattering book encompassing history, travel, nature, and memoir, an extraordinary narrative showing how geographical forces are interlaced with our family stories.
System Details Note:
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Subject: Lee, Jessica J., 1986-
Lee, Jessica J., 1986- > Family.
Lee, Jessica J., 1986- > Travel > Taiwan.
Taiwanese > Canada > Biography.
Adult children of immigrants > Canada > Biography.
Electronic books.
Taiwan > History > 20th century.

Additional Resources