Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Booked for death [electronic resource] / Victoria Gilbert.

Gilbert, Victoria. (Author). hoopla digital. (Added Author).
Image of item

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781643853284 (electronic bk.)
  • ISBN: 1643853287 (electronic bk.)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource
  • Publisher: [United States] : Crooked Lane Books, 2020.
  • Distributor: Made available through hoopla

Content descriptions

Restrictions on Access Note:
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Summary, etc.:
From the critically acclaimed author of SIBA Okra Pick A Murder for the Books, Victoria Gilbert embarks with a new series for perfect for fans of Kate Carlisle and Juliet Blackwell. A book lover's B&B in an idyllic waterfront village becomes the scene of a grisly murder--and a ruthless battle between treachery and the truth. Nestled in the historic waterfront town of Beaufort, North Carolina, Chapters Bed-and-Breakfast is a reader's paradise. Built in 1770, the newly renovated inn hosts a roster of special events celebrating books, genres, and authors. It's the perfect literary retreat--until a rare book dealer turns up dead in the carriage house during a celebration of Golden Age mystery author Josephine Tey. The victim's daughter points the finger at forty-two-year-old widow and former schoolteacher Charlotte Reed, who inherited the B&B from her great-aunt Isabella. Charlotte is shocked to discover that the book dealer suspected Isabella of being a thief who founded Chapters on her ill-gotten gains. Charlotte has successfully learned the B&B business in a year, but nothing has prepared her to handle a death on the premises. Armed with intelligence and courage and assisted by her vibrant older neighbor, a visiting author, and members of a local book club, Charlotte is determined to prove her innocence and to clear her great-aunt's name. But the murderer is still at large, and equally determined to silence anyone who might discover the truth behind the book dealer's death. Now, Charlotte must outwit an unknown killer--or end up writing her own final chapter.
System Details Note:
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Subject: Murder > Investigation > Fiction.
Bed and breakfast accommodations > Fiction.
Women detectives > Fiction.
Electronic books.
North Carolina > Fiction.

Additional Resources