Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The German heiress : a novel [electronic resource] / Anika Scott.

Scott, Anika, (author.). Flanagan, Lisa, (narrator.). hoopla digital. (Added Author).
Image of item

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780062937759 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
  • ISBN: 0062937758 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource (1 audio file (10hr., 26 min.)) : digital.
  • Edition: Unabridged.
  • Publisher: [United States] : HarperAudio, 2020.
  • Distributor: Made available through hoopla

Content descriptions

Restrictions on Access Note:
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Participant or Performer Note:
Read by Lisa Flanagan.
Summary, etc.:
For readers of The Alice Network and The Lost Girls of Paris, an immersive, heart-pounding debut about a German heiress on the run in post-World War II Germany. Clara Falkenberg, once Germany's most eligible and lauded heiress, earned the nickname "the Iron Fr©Þulein" during World War II for her role operating her family's ironworks empire. It's been nearly two years since the war ended and she's left with nothing but a false identification card and a series of burning questions about her family's past. With nowhere else to run to, she decides to return home and take refuge with her dear friend, Elisa. Narrowly escaping a near-disastrous interrogation by a British officer who's hell-bent on arresting her for war crimes, she arrives home to discover the city in ruins, and Elisa missing. As Clara begins tracking down Elisa, she encounters Jakob, a charismatic young man working on the black market, who, for his own reasons, is also searching for Elisa. Clara and Jakob soon discover how they might help each other-if only they can stay ahead of the officer determined to make Clara answer for her actions during the war. Propulsive, meticulously researched, and action-fueled, The Remaking of Clara Falkenberg is a mesmerizing page-turner that questions the meaning of justice and morality, deftly shining the spotlight on the often-overlooked perspective of Germans who were caught in the crossfire of the Nazi regime and had nowhere to turn.
System Details Note:
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Subject: Missing persons > Fiction.
Black market > Fiction.
Heiresses > Germany > Fiction.

Additional Resources