Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Bingo's Run [electronic resource] / James A. Levine

Levine, James A. (Author). Macon, Peter (Added Author). Overdrive Inc. (Added Author).
Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781482950403
  • Physical Description: 1 sound file digital
  • Publisher: [S.I.] : Blackstone Audio, Inc., 2014.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
For fans of Dave Eggers, Teju Cole, and James McBride comes this extraordinary novel of morality and the redemptive powers of art that offers a glimpse into an African underworld rarely described in fiction. Meet Bingo, the greatest drug runner in the slums of Kibera, Nairobi, and maybe the world. A teenage grifter, often mistaken for a younger boy, he faithfully serves Wolf, the drug lord of Kibera. Bingo spends his days throwing rocks at Krazi Hari, the prophet of Kibera's garbage mound; "lipping" safari tourists of their cash; and hanging out with his best friend, Slo-George, a taciturn fellow whose girth is a mystery to Bingo in a place where there is never enough food. Bingo earns his keep by running "white" to a host of clients, including Thomas Hunsa, a reclusive artist whose paintings, rooted in African tradition, move him. But when Bingo witnesses a drug-related murder and Wolf sends him to an orphanage for "protection," Bingo's life changes, and he learns that life itself is the "run." A modern trickster tale that draws on African folklore, Bingo's Run is a wildly original, often very funny, and always moving story of a boy alone in a corrupt and dangerous world who must depend on his wits and inner resources to survive.
System Details Note:
OverDrive WMA Audiobook audiobook-wma 105729721
Subject: Fiction
Literature

Additional Resources