Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The miscalculations of lightning girl [electronic resource]. Stacy McAnulty.

McAnulty, Stacy. (Author). Isabel, Ana. (Added Author).

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780525596257 (sound recording)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource (5 audio files) : digital
  • Edition: Unabridged.
  • Publisher: New York : Listening Library (Audio), 2018.

Content descriptions

General Note:
Unabridged.
Participant or Performer Note:
Narrator: Ana Isabel.
Summary, etc.:
A lightning strike gave her a super power...but even a super genius can't solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funny novel is perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish , Rain Reign , and Counting by Sevens . Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test—middle school! Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that's not a math textbook!). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation? A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different. AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A KIRKUS REVIEWS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR "An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here!" —Kate Beasley, author of Gertie's Leap to Greatness
System Details Note:
Requires OverDrive Listen (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive app (file size: 180726 KB).
Awards Note:
Nominee: Young Hoosier Book Award, 2020-2021.
Subject: Juvenile Fiction.
Juvenile Literature.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources