Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 2 of 3 copies available at Evergreen Indiana.

Current holds

0 current holds with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Andrews-Dallas PL - Andrews F HAR (Text) 73351000053472 Adult Fiction Available -
Lincoln Heritage PL - Dale Main Library NEW HAR (Text) 70743000166345 Adult Fiction Checked out 12/21/2018
Scott County PL - Austin FIC HAR (Text) 35830801898239 Lease Books Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781501171406 (hardcover)
  • ISBN: 9781501190544 (softcover)
  • Physical Description: 391 pages ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First Gallery Books hardcover edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Gallery Books, 2018.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"For fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family--by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again--tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II. When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too. Charlotte Dacher is eleven when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can't imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart. Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he's really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting--and an unexpected road home. When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis--and to open their own broken hearts--as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final page is turned"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: World War, 1939-1945 > France > Fiction.
FICTION / Historical.
FICTION / Family Life.
FICTION / War & Military.
Genre: Historical fiction.
War stories.

Additional Resources