Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Suspicious death : a Luke Thanet mystery [electronic resource].

Simpson, Dorothy, 1933- (Author). hoopla digital. (Added Author).
Image of item

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781504045575 (electronic bk.)
  • ISBN: 1504045572 (electronic bk.)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource
  • Publisher: [United States] : Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller, 2017.
  • Distributor: Made available through hoopla

Content descriptions

Restrictions on Access Note:
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Summary, etc.:
A compelling British police procedural starring the mild-mannered Detective Inspector Thanet from "a modern-day version of Agatha Christie" (Booklist). Change is coming to the Sturrenden police station. After twenty years at the helm, the superintendent has retired, and Det. Inspector Luke Thanet is now reporting to a brusque, ambitious upstart recently promoted from Cardiff. A new chief means turf wars and bureaucratic infighting. With the station in chaos, Thanet is almost happy to investigate a suspicious death. The political side of detective work is what keeps Thanet from seeking promotion. He would rather be risking his neck in the field, and he's one of the best at his job. When powerful businesswoman Marcia Salden is found dead in the River Sture and the autopsy suggests foul play, Thanet descends on the village of Telford Green, where a tangled web of conspiracy rewarded Marcia's ambition with murder. The award-winning Detective Inspector Thanet series about one of the best-loved English policemen is perfect for fans of P. D. James and Midsomer Murders. Suspicious Death is the 8th book in the Inspector Thanet Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
System Details Note:
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Subject: Thanet, Luke (Fictitious character) > Fiction.
Police > England > Fiction.
Electronic books.
Genre: Mystery fiction.

Additional Resources