Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Empire of illusion : the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle [electronic resource] / Chris Hedges.

Hedges, Chris. (Author). Yen, Jonathan. (Added Author). hoopla digital. (Added Author). Read by Jonathan Yen. (Cast).
Image of item

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781977329134 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
  • ISBN: 1977329136 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 27 min.)) : digital.
  • Edition: Unabridged.
  • Publisher: [United States] : Tantor Audio, 2018.
  • Distributor: Made available through hoopla

Content descriptions

Restrictions on Access Note:
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Participant or Performer Note:
Read by Jonathan Yen.
Summary, etc.:
We now live in two Americas. One-now the minority-functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other-the majority-is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority-which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected-presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this "other America," serious film and theater, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society. In the tradition of Christopher Lasch's The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman's Amusing Ourselves to Death, Pulitzer Prize winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture-attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies-to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.
System Details Note:
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Subject: Mass media > United States.
Popular culture > United States.
Literacy > United States.
Mass media and culture > United States.
United States > Intellectual life.

Additional Resources