Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The Romanov empress : a novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna / C.W. Gortner.

Gortner, C. W, (author.).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 4 of 18 copies available at Evergreen Indiana.

Current holds

4 current holds with 18 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Bloomfield Eastern Greene Co PL - Bloomfield Main FIC GOR (Text) 36803001060057 FICTION Checked out 08/03/2018
Greensburg-Decatur Co PL - Greensburg FIC GORTNER (Text) 32826014154306 New Books In process -
Greenwood PL - Greenwood FICTION Gortner (Text) 36626103951729 2nd Floor New Adult On holds shelf -
LaGrange Co PL - LaGrange Main Library F GOR (Text) 30477101183725 Adult: New Checked out 07/31/2018
Lebanon PL - Lebanon F GOR (Text) 34330513256769 Adult - New Fiction Books Checked out 08/04/2018
Monon Town and Twp PL - Monon FIC GOR (Text) 36825000891604 Fiction In process -
Montezuma PL - Montezuma FIC GORT (Text) 36754000307603 Adult Fiction Available -
Monticello-Union Twp PL - Monticello F GORTNER (Text) 37743002284059 Adult New Book Shelf Available -
Mooresville PL - Mooresville FIC GOR (Text) 37323005407500 NEW-BKS Checked out 08/04/2018
Newburgh Chandler PL - Bell Road Library FIC GORTNER (Text) 39206021517956 New Materials In process -
Next 10 »

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780425286166
  • Physical Description: 427 pages : maps, genealogical tables ; 25 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, 2018.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"For readers of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir comes a dramatic novel of the beloved Empress Maria, the Danish girl who became the mother of the last Russian tsar. Even from behind the throne, a woman can rule. Narrated by the mother of Russia's last tsar, this vivid, historically authentic novel brings to life the courageous story of Maria Feodorovna, one of Imperial Russia's most compelling women, who witnessed the splendor and tragic downfall of the Romanovs as she fought to save her dynasty in its final years. Barely nineteen, Minnie knows that her station in life as a Danish princess is to leave her family and enter into a royal marriage--as her older sister Alix has done, moving to England to wed Queen Victoria's eldest son. The winds of fortune bring Minnie to Russia, where she marries the Romanov heir, Alexander, and once he ascends the throne, becomes empress. When resistance to his reign strikes at the heart of her family and the tsar sets out to crush all who oppose him, Minnie--now called Maria--must tread a perilous path of compromise in a country she has come to love. Her husband's death leaves their son Nicholas as the inexperienced ruler of a deeply divided and crumbling empire. Determined to guide him to reforms that will bring Russia into the modern age, Maria faces implacable opposition from Nicholas's strong-willed wife, Alexandra, whose fervor has led her into a disturbing relationship with a mystic named Rasputin. As the unstoppable wave of revolution rises anew to engulf Russia, Maria will face her most dangerous challenge and her greatest heartache. From the opulent palaces of St. Petersburg and the intrigue-laced salons of the aristocracy to the World War I battlefields and the bloodied countryside occupied by the Bolsheviks, C. W. Gortner sweeps us into the anarchic fall of an empire and the complex, bold heart of the woman who tried to save it"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Marīi͡a Ḟeodorovna, Empress, consort of Alexander III, Emperor of Russia, 1847-1928 > Fiction.
Romanov, House of > Fiction.
Russia > History > Alexander III, 1881-1894 > Fiction.
Russia > History > Revolution, 1905-1907 > Fiction.
Empresses > Russia > Fiction.
Russia > Kings and rulers > Fiction.
FICTION / Historical.
FICTION / Biographical.
FICTION / Literary.
Genre: Biographical fiction.
Historical fiction.

Additional Resources