Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The Romanov empress : a novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna / C.W. Gortner.

Gortner, C. W., (author.).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 23 of 31 copies available at Evergreen Indiana.

Current holds

0 current holds with 31 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Bloomfield Eastern Greene Co PL - Bloomfield Main FIC GOR (Text) 36803001060057 FICTION Available -
Culver-Union Twp PL - Culver FIC GORTNER ROM (Text) 34304000905260 Adult - Fiction Available -
Eckhart PL - Auburn Plaza F GORTNER c.w. Romanov (Text) 840191002520999 Auburn Plaza - New Adult Fiction Available -
Fayette Co PL - Connersville FIC GOR (Text) 39230031895939 Adult New Books Available -
Fulton Co PL - Rochester Main Library FIC GOR (Text) 33187004415861 Fiction (adult) Available -
Greensburg-Decatur Co PL - Greensburg FIC GORTNER (Text) 32826014154306 New Books Available -
Greenwood PL - Greenwood FICTION Gortner (Text) 36626103951729 2nd Floor New Adult Checked out 11/30/2018
Jefferson Co PL - Madison Main Branch FICTION GORT (Text) 39391006886798 Fiction Checked out 11/30/2018
Jennings Co PL - North Vernon FIC GOR (Text) 30653001417260 New Adult Fic Available -
LaGrange Co PL - LaGrange Main Library F GOR (Text) 30477101183725 Adult: New Checked out 11/13/2018
Next 10 »

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780425286166
  • ISBN: 0425286169
  • Physical Description: 427 pages : maps, genealogical tables ; 25 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, [2018]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"For readers of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir comes a dramatic novel of the beloved Empress Maria, the Danish girl who became the mother of the last Russian tsar. Even from behind the throne, a woman can rule. Narrated by the mother of Russia's last tsar, this vivid, historically authentic novel brings to life the courageous story of Maria Feodorovna, one of Imperial Russia's most compelling women, who witnessed the splendor and tragic downfall of the Romanovs as she fought to save her dynasty in its final years. Barely nineteen, Minnie knows that her station in life as a Danish princess is to leave her family and enter into a royal marriage--as her older sister Alix has done, moving to England to wed Queen Victoria's eldest son. The winds of fortune bring Minnie to Russia, where she marries the Romanov heir, Alexander, and once he ascends the throne, becomes empress. When resistance to his reign strikes at the heart of her family and the tsar sets out to crush all who oppose him, Minnie--now called Maria--must tread a perilous path of compromise in a country she has come to love. Her husband's death leaves their son Nicholas as the inexperienced ruler of a deeply divided and crumbling empire. Determined to guide him to reforms that will bring Russia into the modern age, Maria faces implacable opposition from Nicholas's strong-willed wife, Alexandra, whose fervor has led her into a disturbing relationship with a mystic named Rasputin. As the unstoppable wave of revolution rises anew to engulf Russia, Maria will face her most dangerous challenge and her greatest heartache. From the opulent palaces of St. Petersburg and the intrigue-laced salons of the aristocracy to the World War I battlefields and the bloodied countryside occupied by the Bolsheviks, C. W. Gortner sweeps us into the anarchic fall of an empire and the complex, bold heart of the woman who tried to save it"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Marīi͡a Ḟeodorovna, Empress, consort of Alexander III, Emperor of Russia, 1847-1928 > Fiction.
Romanov, House of > Fiction.
Russia > History > Alexander III, 1881-1894 > Fiction.
Russia > History > Revolution, 1905-1907 > Fiction.
Empresses > Russia > Fiction.
Russia > Kings and rulers > Fiction.
FICTION / Historical.
FICTION / Biographical.
FICTION / Literary.
Genre: Biographical fiction.
Historical fiction.

Additional Resources