Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The boat people : a novel / Sharon Bala.

Bala, Sharon, (author.).

Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at Evergreen Indiana.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
New Castle-Henry County PL - Main ON-ORDER 1/FIC (Text) NCSTL9780385542296 On Order On order -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780385542296 : HRD
  • ISBN: 0385542291 : HRD
  • Physical Description: pages ; cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Doubleday, [2018]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks--and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. Asthe refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding andtimely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis"-- Provided by publisher.
"A debut novel about a thirty-five-year-old Sri Lankan refugee who has survived the harrowing experiences of civil war, a prison camp, and a perilous ocean voyage to Canada -- but his journey has only begun, as he and his young son navigate the morass ofthe refugee system"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Refugees > Canada > Fiction.
Fathers and sons > Fiction.
FICTION / Family Life.
FICTION / Cultural Heritage.
FICTION / Legal.
Genre: Domestic fiction.
Legal stories.

Additional Resources