Record Details

Catalog Search

Understanding the universe. Part 6, discs 11-12 : an introduction to astronomy.

Filippenko, Alexei V. (Added Author). Teaching Company. (Added Author).
Image of item

Record details

  • Physical Description: 2 videodiscs : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.
  • Edition: 2nd ed.
  • Publisher: Springfield, VA : Teaching Co., 2007.

Content descriptions

Formatted Contents Note:
Part 6 of 8, lectures 61-72, Discs 11-12. Disc 11. 61. The quest for black holes -- 62. Imagining the journey to a black hole -- 63. Wormholes, gateways to other universes? -- 64. Quantum physics and black-hole evaporation -- 65. Enigmatic Gamma-Ray bursts -- 66. Birth cries of black holes -- Disc 12. 67. Our home, the Milky Way Galaxy -- 68. Structure of the Milky Way Galaxy -- 69. Other galaxies, 'Island Universes' -- 70. The dark side of matter -- 71. Cosmology, the really big picture -- 72. Expansion of the Universe and the Big Bang.
Participant or Performer Note:
Lectures delivered by Alex Filippenko.
Summary, etc.:
Lectures designed to provide a non-technical description of modern astronomy, including the structure and evolution of planets, stars, galaxies, and the universe as a whole. The new discoveries reported in the 2003 course are integrated and recent findings (through mid-2006) are included.
System Details Note:
Subject: Digital recordings.
Solar system.
Genre: Instructional films.

Additional Resources