Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



You're welcome, universe [electronic resource]. Whitney Gardner.

Gardner, Whitney. (Author).

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780399551437 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource
  • Date Published: 2017.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: A vibrant, edgy, fresh new YA voice for fans of More Happy Than Not and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, packed with interior graffiti. When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of the Kingston School for the Deaf, she covers it up with a beautiful (albeit illegal) graffiti mural. Her supposed best friend snitches, the principal expels her, and her two mothers set Julia up with a one-way ticket to a "mainstream" school in the suburbs, where she's treated like an outcast as the only deaf student. The last thing she has left is her art, and not even Banksy himself could convince her to give that up. Out in the 'burbs, Julia paints anywhere she can, eager to claim some turf of her own. But Julia soon learns that she might not be the only vandal in town. Someone is adding to her tags, making them better, showing off—and showing Julia up in the process. She expected her art might get painted over by cops. But she never imagined getting dragged into a full-blown graffiti war. Told with wit and grit by debut author Whitney Gardner, who also provides gorgeous interior illustrations of Julia's graffiti tags, You're Welcome, Universe introduces audiences to a one-of-a-kind protagonist who is unabashedly herself no matter what life throws in her way.
Reproduction Note: Electronic reproduction. New York : Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2017. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 19034 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Subject: Young Adult Fiction.
Young Adult Literature.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources