Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Country grit : a farmoir of finding purpose and love / Scottie Jones.

Image of item

Available copies

  • 3 of 3 copies available at Evergreen Indiana.

Current holds

0 current holds with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
North Madison Co PL - Frankton Comm. Library 630.92 JON (Text) 30419200607691 Adult Non-Fiction Available -
Switzerland Co PL - Vevay HOMESTEAD GENERAL (Text) 33710721769995 Adult Non-Fiction: Homesteading Available -
Zionsville PL - Hussey-Mayfield Memorial 630.92 JONES (Text) 33946003262297 Nonfiction . 2nd Floor Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781510722149
  • ISBN: 1510722149
  • Physical Description: xi, 215 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : color illustrations ; 22 cm
  • Publisher: New York, NY : Skyhorse Publishing, [2017]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
Scottie Jones lived a typical suburban, professional life in Phoenix until her husband, Greg, got into a near-fatal car accident. While recovering, he became convinced that they needed a change and a simpler way of life, one more connected with nature and with each other. So, driven by a desire to cut ties with a material and convenient suburban life that had left them feeling empty, they bought a peaceful-looking farmhouse on sixty acres in Oregon and said good-bye to everything they knew. But though the grass may look greener, the road to pastural bliss is fraught with financial woes, relentless rural roadblocks, and colossal failures. When the burden becomes almost too much to bear, Scottie hits on the idea of turning a house they initially built for their daughter into a Farm Stay, where people could visit and learn about Leaping Lamb Farm. The Farm Stay becomes the niche that rescues them from foreclosure-having found both a sense of purpose and a sense of place, the couple now finds the means to sustain it. In a world increasingly filled with questions of where our food comes from and dissatisfactions about our modern lives, Country Grit is a story that will resonate with countless people itching to get back to the land. Told with humor and hard-earned wisdom, it is also an account of what small-scale farmers across the country experience everyday and a warning that the farming life is not for everyone.--AMAZON.
Subject: Jones, Scottie Brown.
Farmers > United States > Biography.
Autobiography.
Loading...

  • Baker & Taylor
    Told with humor and hard-earned wisdom, the author shares her experience cutting ties with a material and convenient suburban life in order to start the Leaping Lamb Farm in Oregon, which, after many trials and tribulations, gave her and her husband a sense of purpose and a sense of place. 20,000 first printing.
  • Baker & Taylor
    The author discusses her life running a small-scale sheep farm, describing how she cared for her animals and coped with financial difficulties by setting up Farm Stay, a guest house where people wanting to learn about farm life could stay.
  • Perseus Publishing
    For Fans of Barbara Kingsolver's Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, a Memoir about Leaving the City Behind for a Life on a Farm.
  • Perseus Publishing
    Scottie Jones lived a typical suburban, professional life in Phoenix until her husband, Greg, got into a near-fatal car accident. While recovering, he became convinced that they needed a change and a simpler way of life, one more connected with nature and with each other. So, driven by a desire to cut ties with a material and convenient suburban life that had left them feeling empty, they bought a peaceful-looking farmhouse on sixty acres in Oregon and said good-bye to everything they knew.But though the grass may look greener, the road to pastoral bliss is fraught with financial woes, relentless rural roadblocks, and colossal failures. When the burden becomes almost too much to bear, Scottie hits on the idea of turning a house they initially built for their daughter into a Farm Stay, where people could visit and learn about Leaping Lamb Farm. The Farm Stay becomes the niche that rescues them from foreclosure—having found both a sense of purpose and a sense of place, the couple now finds the means to sustain it.In a world increasingly filled with questions of where our food comes from and dissatisfactions about our modern lives, Country Grit is a story that will resonate with countless people itching to get back to the land. Told with humor and hard-earned wisdom, it is also an account of what small-scale farmers across the country experience everyday and a warning that the farming life is not for everyone.

Additional Resources