Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Kings of broken things : novel / Theodore Wheeler.

Wheeler, Theodore (Author).

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Evergreen Indiana.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Jennings Co PL - North Vernon FIC WHE (Text) 30653001409945 Adult Fiction Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781503941465
  • Physical Description: 322 pages 22 cm
  • Publisher: New York : Little A, [2017]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: An exciting, gritty portrait of a corrupt American city on the edge of self-destruction. During the waning days of World War I, three lost souls find themselves adrift in Omaha, Nebraska, at a time of unprecendented nationalism, xenophobia, and political corruption. Adolescent European refugee Karel Miihlstein's life is transformed after neighborhood boys discover his prodigious natural talent for baseball. Jake Strauss, a young man with a violent past and desperate for a second chance, is drawn into a criminal underworld. Evie Chambers, a kept woman, is trying to make ends meet and looking every which way to escape her cheerless existence. As wounded soldiers return from the front and black migrant workers move north in search of economic opportunity, the immigrant wards of Omaha become a thinderbox of racial resentment stoked by unscrupulous politicians. Punctuated by an unspeakable act of mob violence, the fates of Karel, Jake and Evie will become inexorably entangled with the schemes of a ruthless political boss whose will to power knows no bounds.
Subject: World War, 1914-1918 > Nebraska > Omaha > Fiction.
Immigrants > Nebraska > Omaha > Fiction.
Race riots > Nebraska > Omaha > Fiction.
Political corruption > Fiction
Omaha (Neb.) > Fiction.
Genre: Historical fiction.
Loading...

  • Brilliance Audio

    With characters depicted in precise detail and wide panorama—a kept-woman’s parlor, a contentious interracial baseball game on the Fourth of July, and the tragic true events of the Omaha Race Riot of 1919—Kings of Broken Things reveals the folly of human nature in an era of astonishing ambition.

    During the waning days of World War I, three lost souls find themselves adrift in Omaha, Nebraska, at a time of unprecedented nationalism, xenophobia, and political corruption. Adolescent European refugee Karel Miihlstein’s life is transformed after neighborhood boys discover his prodigious natural talent for baseball. Jake Strauss, a young man with a violent past and desperate for a second chance, is drawn into a criminal underworld. Evie Chambers, a kept woman, is trying to make ends meet and looking every which way to escape her cheerless existence.

    As wounded soldiers return from the front and black migrant workers move north in search of economic opportunity, the immigrant wards of Omaha become a tinderbox of racial resentment stoked by unscrupulous politicians. Punctuated by an unspeakable act of mob violence, the fates of Karel, Jake, and Evie will become inexorably entangled with the schemes of a ruthless political boss whose will to power knows no bounds.

    Written in the tradition of Don DeLillo and Colum McCann, with a great debt to Ralph Ellison, Theodore Wheeler’s debut novel Kings of Broken Things is a panoramic view of a city on the brink of implosion during the course of this summer of strife.


Additional Resources