Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The House of Government : a saga of the Russian Revolution / Yuri Slezkine.

Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at Evergreen Indiana.

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Kendallville PL - Limberlost Branch SOCIAL.SCIENCE CULTURE Slezkine (Text) 37516002032386 Adult New Book Shelf Available -
Lebanon PL - Lebanon 947.0841 SLE (Text) 34330513175712 Adult - New Books Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780691176949
  • ISBN: 0691176949
  • Physical Description: xv, 1104 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm
  • Publisher: Princeton : Princeton University Press, [2017]

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note: Includes bibliographical references (pages 995-1081) and index.
Formatted Contents Note: Book one. En route -- Part I. Anticipation -- Part II. Fulfillment -- Book two. At home -- Part III. The second coming -- Part IV. The reign of the saints -- Book three. On trial -- Part V. The last judgment -- Part VI. The afterlife.
Summary, etc.: "On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction. The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union. Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 550 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared"--Provided by publisher.
Subject: Moscow (Russia) > Politics and government > 20th century.
Communists > Russia (Federation) > Moscow > Biography.
Apartment dwellers > Russia (Federation) > Moscow > Biography.
Victims of state-sponsored terrorism > Russia (Federation) > Moscow > Biography.
Moscow (Russia) > Biography.
Apartment houses > Russia (Federation) > Moscow > History > 20th century.
Moscow (Russia) > Buildings, structures, etc.
Political purges > Soviet Union > History.
State-sponsored terrorism > Soviet Union > History.
Soviet Union > Politics and government > 1936-1953.

Additional Resources