Record Details

Catalog Search

Indiana legislative calendars 1974-1977

Image of item

Electronic resources

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Evergreen Indiana.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Indiana State Library - Indianapolis [Mss I] ISLI L249 (Text) 00000106353105 Manuscripts Available -

Record details

  • Physical Description: 1.0 Cubic feet 2 oversize boxes

Content descriptions

General Note:
Processing Information: Collection processing completed 2016/07/22 by Edythe Huffman. EAD finding aid created 2016/07/22 by Edythe Huffman.
Restrictions on Access Note:
This collection is open for research.
Summary, etc.:
This collection includes autographed, typed and newsprint documents from the Indiana General Assembly in Indianapolis, Indiana ranging from 1974-1977 regarding legislation.
Preferred Citation of Described Materials Note:
Indiana legislative calendars, Rare Books and Manuscripts, Indiana State Library
Terms Governing Use and Reproduction Note:
Legal title, copyright, and literary rights reside with Rare Books and Manuscripts, Indiana State Library, Indianapolis, IN. All requests to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted to Rare Books and Manuscripts.
Location of Other Archival Materials Note:
Materials relating to this collection may be found in the following collections in Rare Books and Manuscripts, Indiana State Library, Indianapolis, IN: L241: Indiana General Assembly collection, 1865-2016
Biographical or Historical Data:
The General Assembly is the name of the legislature of the state of Indiana. The Constitution of the state of Indiana divides the powers of state government into three departments: the legislative, the executive, and the judicial. Article 4, Section 1, of the state constitution provides:Legislative authority of the state shall be vested in a General AssemblyThe General Assembly is organized into two "houses": the House of Representatives and the Senate. The two houses have co-equal powers, although all bills with a purpose of raising revenue must be originally filed in the House of Representatives.The Senate has 50 elected members. The Lieutenant Governor presides over the Senate but is not considered a "legislator" and can vote on legislation only when there is a tie vote. A member of the Senate is called a "senator". The House of Representatives has 100 elected members. The leader of the House of Representatives is one of the 100 members. A member of the House of Representatives is called a "representative".Indiana is divided into 50 Senate districts and 100 House of Representative districts. A member of the Senate must be elected by the citizens registered to vote in the Senate district in which he or she resides. A member of the House of Representatives must be elected by the citizens registered to vote in the House of Representative district in which he or she resides. The term of a senator is four years, and the term of a representative is two years. Senators and representatives are not subject to term limits. During the 1970s, an amendment to the Constitution passed, allowing the General Assembly to meet annually. Currently, both houses of the General Assembly meet annually for a regular session. The regular session lasts between three and four months. On the call of the Governor, the General Assembly may meet for additional days in one or more special sessions. While not in session, members of the General Assembly may be assigned to interim study committees that meet between the sessions. Several interim study committees have been enacted in state law. Others may be established by the elected officers of the General Assembly.Each house of the General Assembly selects its own leaders. The General Assembly also forms a 16-member committee called the "Legislative Council" to handle a number of administrative matters affecting both the Senate and the House of Representatives.The Senate is unique in that the state constitution requires the Lieutenant Governor to preside over the Senate as its "President"; however, he is not a member of the Senate for most other purposes. When he is not present, a member of the Senate selected as the "President Pro Tempore" presides. The Senate also has a number of other officers. The current President of the Senate is Lieutenant Governor Eric Holcomb. The current President Pro Tempore of the Senate is Senator David Long. The current Minority Leader of the Senate is Senator Tim Lanane.Indiana General Assembly FAQs. Retrieved 2016/06/27. legislative calendar is a list or schedule of pending business. Each house has many types of calendars. Indiana's legislative calendar refers to both the dates by which certain activities regarding a bill must be performed in the house or origin and in the 2nd house and a record of actions taken in the course of each bill's journey through the house of origin and the 2nd house it must traverse on the course of becoming a bill or being defeated.Sources:"Calendar" Retrieved 2016/07/22."Legislative Calendar 2014". Retrieved 2016/07/22.
Ownership and Custodial History:
This collection was received by Rare Books and Manuscripts as a donation.
Accumulation and Frequency of Use Note:
No further additions are expected.
Subject: Indiana. General Assembly.
Indiana > Politics and government > 20th century.
Genre: Calendars.

Additional Resources