Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Cooking for Picasso : a novel / Camille Aubray.

Aubray, Camille, author. (Author). Marno, Mozhan, narrator. (Added Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Evergreen Indiana.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Flora-Monroe Township Public Library - Flora BOT CD FIC AUB (Text) 50825010705266 Audiobooks Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 0735286698
  • ISBN: 9780735286696
  • Physical Description: 11 audio discs (13 1/2 hr.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in.
  • Edition: Unabridged.
  • Publisher: [New York] : Penguin Random House Audio, [2016]

Content descriptions

General Note: Compact discs.
Participant or Performer Note: Read by Mozhan Marno.
Summary, etc.: For readers of Paula McLain, Nancy Horan, and Melanie Benjamin, this captivating novel is inspired by a little-known interlude in the artist's life.The French Riviera, spring 1936. It's off-season in the lovely seaside village of Juan-les-Pins, where seventeen-year-old Ondine cooks with her mother in the kitchen of their family-owned Cafe Paradis. A mysterious new patron who's slipped out of Paris and is traveling under an assumed name has made an unusual request--to have his lunch served to him at the nearby villa he has secretly rented, where he wishes to remain incognito.Pablo Picasso is at a momentous crossroads in his personal and professional lives--and for him, art and women are always entwined. The spirited Ondine, chafing under her family's authority and nursing a broken heart, is just beginning to discover her own talents and appetites. Her encounter with Picasso will continue to affect her life for many decades onward, as the great artist and the talented young chef each pursue their own passions and destiny.New York, present day. Celine, a Hollywood makeup artist who has come home for the holidays, learns from her mother, Julie, that Grandmother Ondine once cooked for Picasso. Prompted by her mother's enigmatic stories and the hint of more family secrets yet to be uncovered, Celine carries out Julie's wishes and embarks on a voyage to the very town where Ondine and Picasso first met. In the lush, heady atmosphere of the Cote d'Azur, and with the help of several eccentric fellow guests attending a rigorous cooking class at her hotel, Celine discovers truths about art, culture, cuisine, and love that enable her to embrace her own future.Featuring an array of both fictional characters and the French Riviera's most famous historical residents, set against the breathtaking scenery of the south of France, Cooking for Picasso serves up a touching, delectable, and wise story, illuminating the powers of trust, money, art, and creativity in the choices that men and women make, as they seek a path toward love, success, and joie de vivre.
Source of Description Note: Vendor-supplied metadata.
Subject: FICTION / Historical
FICTION / Sagas
Picasso, Pablo, 1881-1973 > Fiction.
Women cooks > France > Fiction.
Cooking > France > Fiction.
Riviera (France) > Fiction.
Genre: Historical fiction.
Audiobooks.

Additional Resources