Record Details

Catalog Search

Bones of the Earth [electronic resource].

Swanwick, Michael. (Author). hoopla digital. (Added Author).
Image of item

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781504036467 (electronic bk.)
  • ISBN: 1504036468 (electronic bk.)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource
  • Publisher: [United States] : Open Road Media Sci-Fi & Fantasy : 2016.

Content descriptions

Restrictions on Access Note: Digital content provided by hoopla.
Summary, etc.: Modern technology is pitted against ancient killers in this scientific thriller James Rollins calls "Jurassic Park set amid the paradox of time travel" Paleontologist Richard Leyster is perfectly content in his position with the Smithsonian excavating dinosaur fossil sites and publishing his findings . . . until the mysterious Harry Griffin appears in his office with a cooler containing the head of a freshly killed Stegosaurus. The enigmatic stranger offers Leyster the opportunity to travel back in time to study living dinosaurs in their original habitats-but with strings attached. Soon, the paleontologist finds himself, along with a select team of colleagues-including his chief rival, the ambitious and often ruthless Dr. Gertrude Salley-making discoveries that would prove impossible working from fossils alone. But when Leyster and his team are stranded in the Cretaceous, they must learn to survive while still keeping alive the joy of scientific discovery. This shocking novel spans hundreds of millions of years and deals with the ultimate fate not only of the dinosaurs but also of all humankind. Nominated for the Locus Award, the Hugo Award, the Campbell Award, and the Nebula Award for Best Novel, Bones of the Earth cements author Michael Swanwick as one of the best and most ambitious writers working in the genre. Perfect for fans of Michael Crichton and Greg Bear.
System Details Note: Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Subject: Electronic books.

Additional Resources