Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



We come to our senses : stories / Odie Lindsey.

Lindsey, Odie, author. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 4 of 4 copies available at Evergreen Indiana.

Current holds

0 current holds with 4 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Culver-Union Township Public Library - Culver FIC LIN WE/ (Text) 34304000837292 Adult - Fiction Available -
Flora-Monroe Township Public Library - Flora FIC LIN (Text) 50825010702529 Fiction Available -
Jefferson County Public Library - Madison F (Text) 39391006741340 Fiction Available -
Jennings County Public Library - North Vernon FIC LIN (Text) 30653001403351 New Adult Fic Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780393249606
  • ISBN: 0393249603
  • Physical Description: 208 pages ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : W. W. Norton & Company, 2016.

Content descriptions

Formatted Contents Note: Evie M. -- Darla -- So bored in Nashville -- Chicks -- Clean -- They -- Bird (on back) -- In the alley that runs behind my rotted clapboard apartment house there are sick cats -- Colleen -- 11/19/98 -- Pickle -- Wall -- We come to our senses -- D. Garcia brings the war -- Hers.
Summary, etc.: "For readers of Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk and Redeployment, a searing debut exploring the lives of veterans returning to their homes in the South. Lacerating and lyrical, We Come to Our Senses centers on men and women affected by combat directly and tangentially, and the peculiar legacies of war. The story "Evie M." is about a vet turned office clerk whose petty neuroses derail even her suicide; in "We Come to Our Senses," a hip young couple leaves the city for the sticks, trading film festivals for firearms; in "Colleen" a woman redeploys to her Mississippi hometown, and confronts the superior who abused her at war; and in "11/19/98" a couple obsesses over sitcoms and retail catalogs, extracting joy and deeper meaning. The story "Hers" is about the sexual politics of a combat zone" -- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Veterans > Fiction.
Southern States > Fiction.
Genre: Psychological fiction.
War stories.

Additional Resources