Record Details

Catalog Search

The girls : a novel / Emma Cline.

Cline, Emma, author. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 2 of 4 copies available at Evergreen Indiana.

Current holds

1 current hold with 4 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Brazil Public Library - Brazil LARGE PRINT CLINE (Text) 38160000323954 Second Floor, Large Print Checked out 10/24/2016
Brownstown Public Library - Brownstown LPF CLINE (Text) 79361000098117 Large Print Fiction Available -
Seymour Main Library LRG TYPE FIC CLINE (Text) 37500004347924 Large Type In transit -
Shoals Public Library - Shoals F CLI (Text) 70512000014282 McNaughton, Adult Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780735208186
  • ISBN: 0735208182
  • Physical Description: 369 pages (large print) ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First large print edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Random House Large Print, [2016]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: Girls--their vulnerability, strength, and passion to belong--are at the heart of this stunning first novel for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad. Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is enthralled by Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged--a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence, and to that moment in a girl's life when everything can go horribly wrong. Emma Cline's remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction--and an indelible portrait of girls, and of the women they become.
Subject: Teenage girls > Fiction.
Communal living > California > Fiction.
Nineteen sixties > Fiction.
Counterculture > Fiction.
Large type books.
Genre: Psychological fiction.

Additional Resources