Record Details

Catalog Search

A Shau valor : American combat operations in the Valley of Death 1963-1971 / Thomas R. Yarborough.

Yarborough, Thomas, (author.).

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Evergreen Indiana.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Princeton PL - Princeton 959.704 Yar (Text) 30890000309409 Adult Books Upper level Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781612003542
  • ISBN: 1612003540
  • Physical Description: 311 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations, maps ; 24 cm
  • Publisher: Philadelphia, PA : Casemate, 2016.

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliography and index.
Formatted Contents Note:
Into the Valley of Death -- Rise and fall of Camp A Shau -- Project Delta invades the A Shau -- SOG: west of the A Shau -- Annus horribilis: 1968 -- Operation Dewey Canyon -- Eleven times up Hamburger Hill -- Ripcord: valor in defeat -- A Shau fini: the ninth year -- A bard for the grunts.
Summary, etc.:
Beginning in 1963 Special Forces A-teams established camps along the valley floor, followed by a number of top-secret Project Delta reconnaissance missions through 1967. Then, U.S. Army and Marine Corps maneuver battalions engaged in a series of sometimes controversial thrusts into the A Shau designed to disrupt NVA infiltrations and to kill enemy soldiers, part of what came to be known as Westmoreland's “war of attrition.” The various campaigns included Operation Pirous in 1967, 1968's Operations Delaware and Somerset Plain, 1969's Operations Dewey Canyon, Massachusetts Striker, and Apache Snow―which included the infamous battle for Hamburger Hill―culminating with Operation Texas Star and the vicious fight for and humiliating evacuation of Fire Support Base Ripcord in the summer of 1970, the last major U.S. battle of the war. By 1971 the fighting had once again shifted to the realm of small Special Forces reconnaissance teams assigned to the ultra-secret Studies and Observations Group―SOG. Other works have focused on individual battles or units, but A Shau Valor is the first to study the nine-year campaign―for all its courage and sacrifice―chronologically and within the context of other historical, political and cultural events.
Subject: Vietnam War, 1961-1975.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 > Campaigns.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 > United States.
A Shau Valley (Vietnam)
HISTORY / Military / Special Forces.
HISTORY / Military / Vietnam War.
HISTORY / Military / Aviation.

Additional Resources