Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Trespassing on einstein's lawn [electronic resource] : A Father, a Daughter, the Meaning of Nothing, and the Beginning of Everything. Amanda Gefter.

Gefter, Amanda. (Author).
Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780345539632 (electronic bk)
  • Date Published: 2014.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY KIRKUS REVIEWSIn a memoir of family bonding and cutting-edge physics for readers of Brian Greene's The Hidden Reality and Jim Holt's Why Does the World Exist?, Amanda Gefter tells the story of how she conned her way into a career as a science journalist--and wound up hanging out, talking shop, and butting heads with the world's most brilliant minds. At a Chinese restaurant outside of Philadelphia, a father asks his fifteen-year-old daughter a deceptively simple question: "How would you define nothing?" With that, the girl who once tried to fail geometry as a conscientious objector starts reading up on general relativity and quantum mechanics, as she and her dad embark on a life-altering quest for the answers to the universe's greatest mysteries. Before Amanda Gefter became an accomplished science writer, she was a twenty-one-year-old magazine assistant...
Reproduction Note: Electronic reproduction. New York : Bantam, 2014. Requires Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 5356 KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB).
Subject: Nonfiction.
Biography & Autobiography.
Philosophy.
Science.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources