Record Details

Catalog Search

The 39 steps : Richard Hannay Series, Book 1. / John Buchan.

Buchan, John (Author).

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781843176763 (electronic bk)
  • Publisher: London : Michael O' Mara Books, 2011.

Content descriptions

General Note:
Title from eBook information screen.
Summary, etc.:
One of the most exciting chase thrillers ever published, and a huge influence not only on spy fiction, but on Hollywood as well, The 39 Steps is a book which has captured the imagination of audiences for decades. It was written by acclaimed Scottish author John Buchan, who inspired the writing of other great British novelists, including Graham Greene, Ian Fleming and John le Carré. The 39 Steps remains his most famous work. It is the first of five novels featuring Richard Hannay, an all-action hero with a steely determination and an extraordinary knack for getting himself out of sticky situations; the original, archetypal man-on-the-run character, which has been a staple in literature and film in subsequent decades. The novel charts the electrifying story of an ordinary man caught up in a sinister international plot. With an exclusive introduction by the author's grandson Toby Buchan, it is an edition to be cherished by any fan of the book, or anyone just...
System Details Note:
Requires Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 455 KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB).
Subject: Fiction
Classic Literature.
Genre: Electronic books.

Series Information

Richard Hannay.

Additional Resources