Record Details

Catalog Search

Astoria [electronic resource] : John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and Survival. Peter Stark.

Stark, Peter. (Author).
Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780062218315 (electronic bk)
  • Date Published: 2014.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Pegter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to establish the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become the Oregon trail, permanently altering the nation's landscape and its global standing.Six years after Lewis and Clark's began their journey to the Pacific Northwest, two of the Eastern establishment's leading figures, John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson, turned their sights to founding a colony akin to Jamestown on the West Coast and transforming the nation into a Pacific trading power. Author and correspondent for Outside magazine Peter Stark recreates this pivotal moment in American...
Reproduction Note: Electronic reproduction. New York : Ecco, 2014. Requires Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 4186 KB) or OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB).
Subject: Nonfiction.
Sports & Recreations.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources