Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Vienna nocturne [electronic resource] : A Novel. Vivien Shotwell.

Shotwell, Vivien. (Author).
Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780345536396 (electronic bk)
  • Date Published: 2014.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: In the tradition of Paula McLain's The Paris Wife and Laura Moriarty's The Chaperone comes a sweeping historical love story and a portrait of an age. Vienna Nocturne is a deeply moving debut novel that brings to life two extraordinary figures--a thirty-year-old Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and a young English soprano, Anna Storace, who was his muse--in prose as spirited, timeless, and touching as Mozart's greatest compositions. In late-eighteenth-century London, a young girl takes her first singing lessons with a mysterious castrato in exile. Her life is forever changed. Having learned everything he can teach her, Anna leaves behind all the security and familiarity of home and journeys to Naples and Venice to struggle and triumph in Italy's greatest opera houses. Only sixteen, she finds herself in an intoxicating world of theaters, nobility, and vice, overwhelmed by her newfound freedom and fame. Her first bitter experience of love and heartbreak...
Reproduction Note: Electronic reproduction. New York : Ballantine Books, 2014. Requires Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 2359 KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB).
Subject: Fiction.
Historical Fiction.
Literature.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources