Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Flyover lives : a memoir / Diane Johnson.

Image of item

Electronic resources

Available copies

  • 4 of 4 copies available at Evergreen Indiana.

Current holds

0 current holds with 4 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Butler Public Library - Butler 921 JOHNSO D (Text) 73174005016244 Adult: Nonfiction Available -
Danville-Center Township Public Library - Danville B JOH (Text) 32604000202878 DCTPLD AD Biography Available -
Schricker Main Library 813.54 JOH (Text) 30032010631650 ADULT NON-FICTION Available -
West Lafayette Public Library - West Lafayette 921 JOHNSON, DIANE (Text) 31951003929327 2nd Floor - Non-Fiction Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780670016402 :
  • ISBN: 0670016403 :
  • Physical Description: xviii, 263 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
  • Publisher: New York, New York : Viking, 2014.

Content descriptions

Formatted Contents Note: I. In France -- A Weekend with Generals -- II. Flyover Country -- Moline, pop. 34,000 -- My Moline -- Myopia -- Pastimes -- Economies -- Books -- III. Eighteenth-Century Beginnings -- How We All Descend from Greatness -- Ranna -- Anne and God -- Huts -- 1800 -- John Perkins Too Sees God -- Some Stories from the Life of Catharine Perkins -- The Story of Catharine Continued -- The Inappropriate Letter -- Catharine's Romance -- The Affair of the Locket -- Rascals -- The Elusive Eleazer -- Wedding Journey -- Bloomingburg -- Women's Work : Quilts -- Eleazer the Doctor -- Sorrow -- Depression -- Wars -- IV. Modern Days -- Watseka, Chenoa -- Rich in Uncles -- Summer -- In God We Trusted... -- The Dark Shadow -- Flyover -- Mademoiselle -- California -- Writer -- Silver Screen -- Uncle Bill -- Divorce -- London -- Emancipation Proclamation -- Defeat -- Yellow Morgan -- Chagrin -- Epilogue.
Citation/References Note: LJ 08/01/2013
PW 11/18/2013
Kirkus 11/15/2013
Summary, etc.: "From the New York Times bestselling author of Le Divorce, a dazzling meditation on the mysteries of the "wispy but material" family ghosts who shape us. Growing up in the small river town of Moline, Illinois, Diane Johnson always dreamed of floating down the Mississippi and off to see the world. Years later, at home in France, a French friend teases her: 'Indifference to history--that's why you Americans seem so naive and don't really know where you're from.' The j'accuse stayed with Johnson. Were Americans indifferent to history? Her own family seemed always to have been in the Midwest. Surely they had got there from somewhere? In digging around, she discovers letters and memoirs written by generations of stalwart pioneer ancestors that testify to more complex times than the derisive nickname 'The Flyover' gives the region credit for. With the acuity and sympathy that her novels are known for, she captures the magnetic pull of home against our lust for escape and self-invention. This spellbinding memoir will appeal to fans of Bill Bryson, Patricia Hampl, and Annie Dillard"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Johnson, Diane, 1934- > Family.
Pioneers > Middle West > Biography.
Home > Middle West.
Novelists, American > Biography.
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs.
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Literary.
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Women.
Moline (Ill.) > Biography.
Middle West > Biography.
Middle West > Social life and customs.

Additional Resources