Record Details

Catalog Search

Cosmos / Carl Sagan.

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780307800985 (electronic bk.)
  • ISBN: 0307800989 (electronic bk.)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource (338 pages) : illustrations
  • Publisher: New York : Random House, [1980]

Content descriptions

General Note: Based on C. Sagan's 13-part television series, Cosmos.
Bibliography, etc. Note: Includes bibliographical information.
Summary, etc.: This book is about science in its broadest human context, how science and civilization grew up together. It is the story of our long journey of discovery and the forces and individuals who helped to shape modern science, including Democritus, Hypatia, Kepler, Newton, Huygens, Champollion, Lowell and Humason. The book also explores spacecraft missions of discovery of the nearby planets, the research in the Library of ancient Alexandria, the human brain, Egyptian hieroglyphics, the origin of life, the death of the Sun, the evolution of galaxies and the origins of matter, suns and worlds. The author retraces the fifteen billion years of cosmic evolution that have transformed matter into life and consciousness, enabling the cosmos to wonder about itself. He considers the latest findings on life elsewhere and how we might communicate with the beings of other worlds.
Subject: Astronomy > Popular works.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources