Record Details

Catalog Search

Listen, slowly [electronic resource]. Thanhha Lai.

Lai, Thanhha. (Author). Lam, Lulu. (Added Author).
Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780062346469 (sound recording)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource (7 audio files) : digital
  • Edition: Unabridged.
  • Publisher: New York : HarperAudio, 2015.

Content descriptions

General Note: Unabridged.
Participant or Performer Note: Narrator: Lulu Lam.
Summary, etc.: This remarkable novel from Thanhhà Lại, New York Times bestselling author of the National Book Award–winning and Newbery Honor Book Inside Out & Back Again, follows a young girl as she learns the true meaning of family.A California girl born and raised, Mai can't wait to spend her vacation at the beach. Instead, though, she has to travel to Vietnam with her grandmother, who is going back to find out what really happened to her husband during the Vietnam War. Mai's parents think this trip will be a great opportunity for their out-of-touch daughter to learn more about her culture. But to Mai, those are their roots, not her own. Vietnam is hot, smelly, and the last place she wants to be. Besides barely speaking the language, she doesn't know the geography, the local customs, or even her distant relatives. To survive her trip, Mai must find a balance between her two completely different worlds.Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Linda Sue...
System Details Note: Requires OverDrive Listen (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive app (file size: 212113 KB).
Subject: Juvenile Fiction.
Juvenile Literature.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources