Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Back To Results
Showing Item 2 of 3

A world without heroes  Cover Image E-audio E-audio

A world without heroes

Roche, George Charles. (Author). Morris, Robert. (Added Author).

Summary: An elegant essay in the tradition of Chesterton, Lewis, Merton, and Muggeridge, George Roche's A World without Heroes rebukes secular humanism as the most dehumanizing force of our modern age. This ringing defense of Christianity-humorous, insightful, and uncompromising-takes careful aim at those ideas which have shriveled the will and faith of the West: Marxism, Dadaism, Aesthetism, Empiricism. We live, says Roche, in a world without heroes, a world which rarely challenges evolution as the "origin" of all life, an era enervated by materialism, in which to be Christian means to be stereotyped as narrow-minded, unenlightened and, worst of all, "unscientific." Roche denies this anti-heroic vision of humanity in a penetrating study which encompasses four centuries of cultural, intellectual, scientific, and Christian thought.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781483053684 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
  • ISBN: 1483053687 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
  • Physical Description: electronic
    access
    remote
    1 online resource (1 audio file (12hr., 28 min.)) : digital
  • Edition: Unabridged.
  • Publisher: [United States] : Blackstone Audio, Inc. : Made available through hoopla, 1998.

Content descriptions

Restrictions on Access Note:
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Participant or Performer Note: Read by Robert Morris.
System Details Note:
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Subject: Heroes
Civilization, Modern 1950-
Christian sociology History 20th century
United States Moral conditions
United States Social conditions 1980-2020

Electronic resources


Back To Results
Showing Item 2 of 3

Additional Resources