Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The ex : A Novel / Alafair Burke.

Burke, Alafair, author. (Author). OverDrive, Inc., distributor. (Added Author).
Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780062390509 (electronic bk.)
  • ISBN: 0062390503 (electronic bk.)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource.
  • Publisher: New York : HarperCollins, 2016.

Content descriptions

General Note: Electronic book.
Summary, etc.: Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it. In this breakout novel of suspense in the vein of Luckiest Girl Alive and The Girl on the Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder?but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated. Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife, Molly, by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that, when he spots a woman in last night's party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That's when Jack's world falls apart. Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fianc?, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide?and that one of the victims was connected to his wife's murder?there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is, who would go to such great lengths to frame him?and why? For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets and absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him? Praise for The Ex and Alafair Burke "With an all-too-real mass shooting in a richly observed Manhattan as its springboard, The Ex is an expertly crafted, intricately woven novel that is as emotionally complex as it is riveting."?Kimberly McCreight "Burke's female characters are always very involving, with big, strong voices." ?Gillian Flynn "A major talent."?Harlan Coben "Burke writes deftly about secrets buried close to home."?Meg Gardiner "Burke's novels always deliver and constantly surprise. They're both addictive and utterly rewarding."?Megan Abbott.
Subject: Murder > Fiction.
Man-woman relationships > Fiction.
False arrest > Fiction.
Criminal defense lawyers > Fiction.
Fiction.
Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Genre: Electronic books.
Electronic books.

Additional Resources