Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Salt to the sea [electronic resource]. Ruta Sepetys.

Sepetys, Ruta. (Author).
Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780698172623 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource
  • Date Published: 2016.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: The author of Between Shades of Gray returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies. In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer toward safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's critically...
Target Audience Note: Text Difficulty 2 - Text Difficulty 3
560 Lexile.
Reproduction Note: Electronic reproduction. New York : Philomel Books, 2016. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 1691 KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Subject: Young Adult Fiction.
Historical Fiction.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources