Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



When breath becomes air [electronic resource]. Paul Kalanithi.

Kalanithi, Paul. (Author).
Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780812988413 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource
  • Date Published: 2016.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question: What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor making a living treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. Just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air, which features a Foreword by Dr. Abraham Verghese and an Epilogue by Kalanithi's wife, Lucy, chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a young neurosurgeon at Stanford, guiding patients toward a deeper...
Reproduction Note: Electronic reproduction. New York : Random House, 2016. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 4988 KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Subject: Nonfiction.
Biography & Autobiography.
Medical.
Sociology.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources