Record Details

Catalog Search

When breath becomes air [electronic resource]. Paul Kalanithi.

Kalanithi, Paul. (Author). Malhotra, Sunil. (Added Author).
Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780399566196 (sound recording)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource (5 audio files) : digital
  • Edition: Unabridged.
  • Publisher: New York : Random House Audio, 2016.

Content descriptions

General Note: Unabridged.
Participant or Performer Note: Narrator: Sunil Malhotra.
Summary, etc.: For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What...
System Details Note: Requires OverDrive Listen (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive app (file size: 157408 KB).
Subject: Nonfiction.
Biography & Autobiography.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources