Record Details

Catalog Search

In a heartbeat [electronic resource]. Loretta Ellsworth.

Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780802722454 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource
  • Publisher: New York : Bloomsbury Publishing Plc, 2010.

Content descriptions

General Note: Title from eBook information screen..
Summary, etc.: When a small mistake costs sixteen-year-old Eagan her life during a figure-skating competition, she leaves many things unreconciled, including her troubled relationship with her mother. From her vantage point in the afterlife, Eagan reflects back on her memories, and what she could have done differently, through her still-beating heart.When fourteen-year-old Amelia learns she will be getting a heart transplant, her fear and guilt battle with her joy at this new chance at life. And afterwards when she starts to feel different-dreaming about figure skating, craving grape candy-her need to learn about her donor leads her to discover and explore Eagan's life, meeting her grieving loved ones and trying to bring the closure they all need to move on. Told in alternating viewpoints, In a Heartbeat tells the emotional and compelling story of two girls sharing one heart. In the tradition of Lurlene McDaniel, Jenny Downham, and Gabrielle Zevin comes a touching novel of last regrets...
Target Audience Note: MG+/Upper middle grades (6th-12th)
580 Lexile.
4 ATOS Level
System Details Note: Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 477 KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Subject: Young Adult Fiction.
Young Adult Literature.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources