Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The rooms of heaven [electronic resource]. Mary Allen.

Allen, Mary. (Author).
Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780307766786 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource
  • Publisher: New York : Vintage, 2011.

Content descriptions

General Note: Title from eBook information screen..
Summary, etc.: "A love story, a memoir, a haunting tale of grief and healing. This book is all that and more." --Chicago TribuneIn the tradition of Susanna Kaysen's Girl, Interrupted and Caroline Knapp's Drinking: A Love Story, Mary Allen tells a riveting love story that explores the uncharted territory between passion and addiction, grief and madness, this world and the next.When Mary Allen falls in love with Jim Beaman, she doesn't know he has a drug problem, but she does sense demons and angels around him, like "a disturbance in the air, a sound just beyond the register of human hearing." And when Jim--discouraged and depressed, struggling with his addiction--kills himself a year into their relationship, Allen is unable to let him go. In her desperate attempts to recover from the loss, she uses a Ouija board and automatic writing to pull back from reality into the dark recesses of her mind, where she believes she can find him. The result is a...
System Details Note: Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 1896 KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Subject: Nonfiction.
Biography & Autobiography.
Sociology.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources