Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Shadow divers [electronic resource] : The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II. Robert Kurson.

Kurson, Robert. (Author).
Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781588362490 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource
  • Date Published: 2004.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger's The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery--and make history themselves.For John Chatterton and Richie Kohler, deep wreck diving was more than a sport. Testing themselves against treacherous currents, braving depths that induced hallucinatory effects, navigating through wreckage as perilous as a minefield, they pushed themselves to their limits and beyond, brushing against death more than once in the rusting hulks of sunken ships.But in the fall of 1991, not even these courageous divers were prepared for what they found 230 feet below the surface, in the frigid Atlantic waters sixty miles off the coast of New Jersey: a World War II German U-boat, its ruined interior a macabre wasteland of twisted metal, tangled wires, and human bones--all buried under decades of accumulated...
Target Audience Note: Text Difficulty 6 - Text Difficulty 12
Reproduction Note: Electronic reproduction. New York : Random House, 2004. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 3855 KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 1855 KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Subject: Nonfiction.
History.
Military.
Travel.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources