Record Details

Catalog Search

Harlot's ghost [electronic resource] : A Novel. Norman Mailer.

Mailer, Norman. (Author).
Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781588365897 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource
  • Publisher: New York : Random House, 2007.

Content descriptions

General Note: Title from eBook information screen..
Summary, etc.: With unprecedented scope and consummate skill, Norman Mailer unfolds a rich and riveting epic of an American spy. Harry Hubbard is the son and godson of CIA legends. His journey to learn the secrets of his society--and his own past--takes him through the Bay of Pigs, the Cuban Missile Crisis, and the "momentous catastrophe" of the Kennedy assassination. All the while, Hubbard is haunted by women who were loved by both his godfather and President Kennedy. Featuring a tapestry of unforgettable characters both real and imagined, Harlot's Ghost is a panoramic achievement in the tradition of Tolstoy, Melville, and Balzac, a triumph of Mailer's literary prowess. Praise for Harlot's Ghost "[Norman Mailer is] the right man to exalt the history of the CIA into something better than history."--Anthony Burgess, The Washington Post Book World "Elegantly written and filled with almost electric tension . . . When I...
System Details Note: Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 4108 KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 3279 KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Subject: Fiction.
Historical Fiction.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources