Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The dream lover [electronic resource] : A Novel of George Sand. Elizabeth Berg.

Berg, Elizabeth. (Author).
Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780679644705 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource
  • Date Published: 2015.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY USA TODAY • Elizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sand--which is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan and Elizabeth Gilbert. At the beginning of this powerful novel, we meet Aurore Dupin as she is leaving her estranged husband, a loveless marriage, and her family's estate in the French countryside to start a new life in Paris. There, she gives herself a new name--George Sand--and pursues her dream of becoming a writer, embracing an unconventional and even scandalous lifestyle. Paris in the nineteenth century comes vividly alive, illuminated by the story of the loves, passions, and fierce struggles of a woman who defied the confines of society. Sand's many lovers and friends include Frédéric Chopin, Gustave Flaubert, Franz Liszt, Eugène Delacroix,...
Reproduction Note: Electronic reproduction. New York : Random House, 2015. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 2272 KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Subject: Fiction.
Historical Fiction.
Literature.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources