Record Details

Catalog Search

Orient / Christopher Bollen.

Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781471136177
  • ISBN: 1471136175
  • ISBN: 9780062329974
  • ISBN: 0062329979
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource.
  • Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster UK, 2015.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: Suspenseful and haunting, Bollen's thrilling novel Orient is a provocative take on the troubled American dream, in the vein of Lionel Shriver or AM Homes. At the eastern edge of Long Island, far from the hustle of New York City, stands Orient, a village that has been home to a few families for hundreds of years and is now - reluctantly - opening up to wealthy weekenders and artists from the city. On the last day of summer, a young man with a hazy past appears, and, not long after his arrival comes a series of events that shatters the peace in this isolated community. A strange, twisted creature washes ashore on the Sound and, soon after, a human corpse is found floating in the water. An elderly woman dies in bizarre circumstances and a house fire erupts out of nowhere. Fear and suspicion mount until everyone's secrets threaten to be exposed. But who is Mills Chevern? What is his real name and why is he here? As all eyes shift towards the orphan drifter, Mills elicits the support of Beth Shepherd, an Orient native who is hiding a secret of her own. 'A compelling novel of tragic suspense. Bollen has a gift for tightly drawn characters and an ominous sense of place' AM Homes 'A taut and elegant suspense about strangers and strangeness, suspicion and forgiveness, reinvention and confession' Joshua Ferris 'Orient is not as pleasant as it seems, and Bollen will hold you spellbound as he reveals its secrets. A truly well-crafted murder mystery that recalls both PD James and Twin Peaks' Nelson DeMille
Source of Description Note: Vendor-supplied metadata.
Subject: Secrecy > Fiction.
Drifters > Fiction.
Islands > New York (State) > Fiction.
Orient (N.Y.) > Social life and customs > Fiction.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources