Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The promise of home : a Mill River novel / Darcie Chan.

Chan, Darcie, author. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 6 of 9 copies available at Evergreen Indiana.

Current holds

0 current holds with 9 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Clinton Public Library - Clinton CHA (MILL #3) (Text) 36806002056982 FICTION Available -
Hussey-Mayfield Memorial Branch FIC CHAN, DARCIE "MILL" BK.3 (Text) 33946003080830 Fiction . 2nd Floor Available -
LaGrange County Public Library - LaGrange F CHA (Text) 30477100846231 Adult: Fiction Available -
Paoli Public Library - Paoli FIC CHA (Text) 79593000029485 NEW FICTION In transit -
Paoli Public Library - Paoli FIC CHA (Text) 79593000029486 Adult Fic Checked out 12/08/2016
Pike County - Winslow Branch FIC CHAN (Text) 38651833125137 Adult Fiction Available -
Plainfield-Guilford Township Public Library FIC Chan (Text) 31208911592675 fiction Available -
Seymour Main Library FIC CHAN (Text) 37500004118291 Fiction Available -
Washington Township Public Library - Lynn F-PB-CHA (Text) 76683000036120 Stacks Checked out 12/06/2016

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780345538246
  • ISBN: 0345538242
  • Physical Description: 399 pages ; 21 cm.
  • Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, [2015]

Content descriptions

General Note: Series numeration from NoveList.
Summary, etc.: "Writing in the tradition of Jan Karon and Maeve Binchy, New York Times bestselling author Darcie Chan returns readers to Mill River, the charming town whose residents experience surprises and sorrows, witness acts of goodwill and kindness, embrace family love and friendship--and uncover age-old secrets and heartaches. These days, Mill River, Vermont is a hub of activity. Karen Cooper and her son bid a temporary farewell to husband and father Nick, off to Saudi Arabia to work as a contractor. But when he goes missing Karen turns to the beloved nonagenarian priest Father O'Brien for counsel. Kyle Hansen and Claudia Simon blissfully prepare for their wedding--until a part of Kyle's past arrives in town and shakes up their solid romance. Emily DiSanti, still haunted by a tragedy that tore her world apart a decade ago, is renovating the old McAllister mansion, eager to restore it to its former beauty and to find peace in the intense workload. All of these lives--and the lives of others in this sleepy small town--move forward, bump up against one another, and intertwine. But when a cache of hidden letters is discovered, a decades-old secret comes to light--one that is rooted deeply in the childhood of the longtime resident who has touched the lives of everyone in town, and that will change his own life in a powerful and unexpected way. Praise for Darcie Chan's The Mill River Redemption "An enchanting storyteller, Chan is one of those rare authors who makes you feel more fully alive."--Elizabeth Letts, author of The Eighty-Dollar Champion "An engrossing page-turner [with] sympathetic and relatable characters."--Library Journal Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more"-- Provided by publisher.
"Mill River cop Kyle Hansen and teacher Claudia Simon are excitedly planning their wedding. When they learn that a new bed and breakfast is set to open in the old McAllister mansion, they hope the gifted Emily DiSanti will quickly restore it to its grandbeauty. While refinishing the hardwood floors, Emily discovers a secret compartment and a mysterious briefcase. Inside, she finds years of correspondence between the reclusive Mary McAllister and her close friend--the town priest Father O'Brien's late mother, Anna O'Brien. Through the letters, Emily learns about the surprising relationship between Mary and Anna and a secret that will change everything for Father O'Brien. Karen Cooper, lives in town with her eight year old son, Nick. Her husband took a job as a government contractor in Afghanistan, and has been missing for a year. As Karen struggles with depression and Nick begins to have trouble at school, Father O'Brien is enlisted to offer his guidance, particularly for Nick, whose situation feels all too familiar"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Interpersonal relations > Fiction.
City and town life > Vermont > Fiction.
FICTION / Contemporary Women.
FICTION / Sagas.
FICTION / Psychological.

Additional Resources