Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



A simple faith / Rosalind Lauer.

Lauer, Rosalind. (Author).
Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780345543271 (electronic bk.)
  • ISBN: 0345543270 (electronic bk.)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource (370 pages)
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks, [2013]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "For fans of Beverly Lewis and Cindy Woodsmall, Rosalind Lauer's uplifting Lancaster Crossroads novel A Simple Faith brings together disparate lives in a warm Amish setting. BLESSINGS BORN OF TRAGEDY, A LOVE TO HEAL ALL FEARS. Rushing to the scene of a tragic highway collision, nursing student Haley Donovan draws on her training to care for the passengers in the crumpled van. The experience wins her a place in Lancaster County's tight-knit Amish society, and draws her to kindhearted psychologist Dylan Monroe. Working side by side with Dylan, who is bringing counseling services to the small town of Halfway, Haley feels an undeniable attraction between them, yet she senses that Dylan is holding back, scarred by the wounds of his past. Elsie Lapp, the manager of Halfway's country store, is a voice of cheer and goodwill for her customers. But Elsie's serene world spins out of control with the terrible crash, and the young woman finds herself grappling for the simple faith that has always sustained her. Her burden is eased by Ruben Zook, a neighbor known for his snide jokes. In the aftermath of the accident, Ruben reveals a tender heart that could easily sweep her away. However, Elsie carries secrets that keep her from surrendering her heart. Exploring the ways that faith, hope, and charity bring everyone together, A Simple Faith resonates with the sweetness, purity, and power of love"-- Provided by publisher.
"When a tragic accident occurs in Halfway, the entire community of Amish folk, Englishers, and tourists draw together to face the aftermath. Haley Donovan, an Englisher Halfway resident who comes upon the crash, finds herself drawn into the Amish community through the friendships born in crisis, and to social worker Dylan Monroe. Elsie Lapp suffers greatly from the loss of her father in the accident, but her burden is eased by another survivor of the collision, notorious joker Ruben Zook. Before she knows it, Elsie is falling in love with Ruben but fears that she isn't good enough for the kind Amish man. As the town of Halfway struggles to heal, both of these couples discover the restorative power of love"-- Provided by publisher.
Source of Description Note: Description based on print version record.
Subject: Amish > Fiction.
Accidents > Fiction.
Lancaster County (Pa.) > Fiction.
FICTION / Christian / Romance.
FICTION / Romance / General.
Genre: Christian fiction.
Love stories.
Electronic books.

Additional Resources