Record Details

Catalog Search

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780307908551 (electronic bk.)
  • ISBN: 0307908550 (electronic bk.)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource (239 pages)
  • Edition: 1st United States ed.
  • Publisher: New York : Pantheon Books, [2013]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
In the words of Alexander McCall Smith: 'You feel the rocking of the train, you hear the sound of its wheels on the rails; you are in the world rather than suspended somewhere above it. And sometimes there are conversations to be had, which is what the overarching story in this collection is all about. It is a simple device: people brought together entertain one another with tales of what happened to them on trains. It takes place on a journey I frequently make myself and know well, the journey between Edinburgh and London. It is best read on a train, preferably that one.'
As they travel by rail from Edinburgh to London, four strangers entertain one another with tales of how trains have changed their lives.
Source of Description Note:
Description based on print version record.
Subject: Railroad travel > Fiction.
Strangers > Fiction.
Genre: Humorous fiction.
Love stories.
Electronic books.

Additional Resources