Record Details

Catalog Search

The penderwicks [electronic resource] : The Penderwicks Series, Book 1. Jeanne Birdsall.

Birdsall, Jeanne. (Author).
Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780307541345 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource
  • Publisher: New York : Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2009.

Content descriptions

General Note: Title from eBook information screen..
Summary, etc.: A National Book Award winner, this modern classic is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel's sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel's owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures. The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will--won't they? One thing's for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget. Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.From the Hardcover edition.
Target Audience Note: Text Difficulty 3 - Text Difficulty 4
MG/Middle grades (4th-8th)
800 Lexile.
4.7 ATOS Level
System Details Note: Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 2133 KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Subject: Juvenile Fiction.
Juvenile Literature.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources