Record Details

Catalog Search

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 0739346210
  • ISBN: 9780739346211
  • Publisher: [Santa Ana, Calif.] : Books on Tape, [2006]

Content descriptions

General Note:
Downloadable audio file.
Title from: Title details screen.
Duration: 4:53:47.
Participant or Performer Note:
Read by Ron McLarty.
Summary, etc.:
In her fifty-second bestselling novel, Danielle Steel weaves a compelling story of the power of lies, the misuse of trust - and of one woman's triumph over a devastating betrayal. Marie-Ange Hawkins has the kind of childhood that most people dream of. Freedom, love, security in a beautiful old French château. But when Marie-Ange is just eleven, a tragic accident marks the end of her idyllic life. Orphaned and alone, she is sent to America, to live with her great-aunt on a farm in Iowa. Bitterly resented by the old woman, cut off from everything she has known and loved, Marie-Ange is forced to work tirelessly on the farm, dreaming only of the day she can return to her beloved Château de Marmouton. Danielle Steel's powerful novel is about being pulled into a place where nothing is what it seems. It is about being seduced and lied to and turned around, and wanting to believe the lies - until the moment comes, in one blinding instant, when survival and salvation depend on a final Leap of Faith: the only path to freedom, and life.
System Details Note:
Requires OverDrive Media Console (file size: 70385 KB).
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Subject: Americans > France > Fiction.
Married women > Fiction.
Castles > Fiction.
Orphans > Fiction.
France > Fiction.
Iowa > Fiction.
Genre: Romantic suspense fiction.

Additional Resources