Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 5 of 9

When breath becomes air / Paul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese.

Kalanithi, Paul, (author.). Verghese, A. (Abraham), 1955- (writer of foreword.). Malhotra, Sunil, (narrator.). Campbell, Cassandra, (narrator.).

Available copies

  • 12 of 13 copies available at Evergreen Indiana. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Greenwood Public Library.

Current holds

0 current holds with 13 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Greenwood PL - Greenwood BKCD 616.99 KAL (Text) 36626103713871 AV Books on CD Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781524708146
  • ISBN: 1524708143
  • ISBN: 9780399566189
  • ISBN: 039956618X
  • Physical Description: 5 audio discs (5 hr., 30 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
  • Edition: Unabridged.
  • Publisher: [Westminster, MD] : Books on Tape ; [2016]

Content descriptions

General Note: Compact discs.
Title from container.
Participant or Performer Note: Read by Sunil Malhotra and Cassandra Campbell.
Summary, etc.: "For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question: What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both."-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Kalanithi, Paul > Health.
Lungs > Cancer > Patients > United States > Biography.
Neurosurgeons > Biography.
Husband and wife.
Audiobooks.
Genre: Autobiographies.
Search Results Showing Item 5 of 9

Additional Resources