Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 3 of 22

Available copies

  • 15 of 15 copies available at Evergreen Indiana. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Greenwood Public Library.

Current holds

0 current holds with 15 total copies.

Series Information

Thorndike Press large print popular and narrative nonfiction.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Greenwood PL - Greenwood 616.99 KAL (Text) 36626103735171 2nd Floor Adult Large Print Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781410487858
  • ISBN: 1410487857
  • Physical Description: 241 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
  • Edition: Large print edition.
  • Publisher: Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2016.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question: What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both."-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Kalanithi, Paul Health
Lungs Cancer Patients United States Biography
Neurosurgeons Biography
Husband and wife
Large type books
Genre: Autobiographies.
Loading...
LDR 03803cam a2200505 i 4500
00121062050
003EG-IN
00520170717172043.0
008151125s2016 meu d 000 0aeng
010 . ‡a 2015045943
020 . ‡a9781410487858 ‡q(hardback)
020 . ‡a1410487857 ‡q(hardcover)
0243 . ‡a9781410487858
035 . ‡a(OCoLC)ocn930257497
035 . ‡a(OCoLC)930257497
042 . ‡apcc
043 . ‡an-us---
049 . ‡aXNPA
040 . ‡aDLC ‡beng ‡erda ‡cDLC ‡dBTCTA ‡dBDX ‡dOU9 ‡dOCP ‡dON8 ‡dNDS ‡dOCLCO ‡dINR ‡dOCLCQ ‡dOCLCO ‡dOCLCQ ‡dXNP ‡dMvI
05000. ‡aRC280.L8 ‡bK35 2016b
08200. ‡a616.99/4240092 ‡aB ‡223
084 . ‡aBIO026000 ‡2bisacsh
092 . ‡a616.99 ‡bKALA
1001 . ‡aKalanithi, Paul, ‡eauthor. ‡0(EG-IN)945098
24510. ‡aWhen breath becomes air / ‡cPaul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese.
250 . ‡aLarge print edition.
264 1. ‡aWaterville, Maine : ‡bThorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning, ‡c2016.
300 . ‡a241 pages (large print) ; ‡c23 cm.
336 . ‡atext ‡btxt ‡2rdacontent
337 . ‡aunmediated ‡bn ‡2rdamedia
338 . ‡avolume ‡bnc ‡2rdacarrier
340 . ‡nlarge print. ‡2rda
4901 . ‡aThorndike Press large print popular and narrative nonfiction
520 . ‡a"For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question: What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both."-- Provided by publisher.
596 . ‡a2
60010. ‡aKalanithi, Paul ‡xHealth.
650 0. ‡aLungs ‡xCancer ‡xPatients ‡zUnited States ‡vBiography. ‡0(EG-IN)1116324
650 0. ‡aNeurosurgeons ‡vBiography.
650 0. ‡aHusband and wife. ‡0(EG-IN)1346960
650 0. ‡aLarge type books. ‡0(EG-IN)1360178
655 7. ‡aAutobiographies. ‡2lcgft ‡0(EG-IN)1143398
7001 . ‡aVerghese, A. ‡q(Abraham), ‡d1955- ‡eauthor of foreword. ‡0(EG-IN)1431432
830 0. ‡aThorndike Press large print popular and narrative nonfiction. ‡0(EG-IN)662492
994 . ‡aC0 ‡bXNP
901 . ‡ai9781410487858 ‡bISxN ‡c21062050 ‡tbiblio
Search Results Showing Item 3 of 22

Additional Resources