Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 3 of 9

When breath becomes air / Paul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese.

Kalanithi, Paul, (author.). Verghese, A. (Abraham), 1955- (author of foreword.).

Available copies

  • 9 of 13 copies available at Evergreen Indiana. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Greenwood Public Library.

Current holds

1 current hold with 13 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Greenwood PL - Greenwood 616.99 KAL (Text) 36626103735171 New Large Type Books Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781410487858
  • ISBN: 1410487857
  • Physical Description: 241 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
  • Edition: Large print edition.
  • Publisher: Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2016.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question: What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both."-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Kalanithi, Paul > Health.
Lungs > Cancer > Patients > United States > Biography.
Neurosurgeons > Biography.
Husband and wife.
Large type books.
Genre: Autobiographies.
Search Results Showing Item 3 of 9

Additional Resources